buy the afghan whigs in spades

Order The Afghan Whigs'
New Album: In Spades

Pitchfork: Afghan Whigs Retrospective Revealed

Pitchfork: Afghan Whigs Retrospective Revealed
On May 1, Rhino Records will release Unbreakable (A Retrospective), an 18-track overview of the Afghan Whigs’ dark, decadent career. Notice how it isn’t called Unbreakable (Greatest Hits), because the Afghan Whigs didn’t really have any hits. It also isn’t called Unbreakable (Best Of), because “Summer’s Kiss”, “When We Two Parted”, “Fountain and Fairfax”, and “You My Flower” aren’t on it, and that’s just criminal. (What were the criteria for inclusion on this thing anyway?)

What is on Unbreakable is 16 songs from the band’s Sub Pop albums Up in It and Congregation, Sub Pop EP Uptown Avondale, Elektra albums Gentlemen and Black Love, and Columbia album 1965. And, as previously reported, the compilation includes two brand new Afghan Whigs songs, “I’m a Soldier” and “Magazine”, recorded when singer/guitarist Greg Dulli, bassist John Curley, guitarist Rick McCollum, and drummer Michael Horrigan reunited last fall.

It’s doubtful that the reunion will extend beyond those new songs, however, as Dulli is still very busy with the Twilight Singers and his collaboration with Mark Lanegan, the Gutter Twins.

01 Retarded
02 Crazy
03 Turn on the Water
04 Debonair
05 I’m a Soldier
06 66
07 Be Sweet
08 Come See About Me
09 Uptown Again
10 What Jail Is Like
11 Magazine
12 I’m Her Slave
13 Going to Town
14 Gentlemen
15 Let Me Lie to You
16 John the Baptist
17 Crime Scene Part One
18 Faded

Comments are closed.

Copyright 2022 Summer's Kiss · RSS Feed · Log in