buy the afghan whigs in spades

Order The Afghan Whigs'
New Album: In Spades

Powder Burns – Ice

Twilight Singers Shine Light on Crescent City with Powder Burns
Ice Magazine

New Orleans has always been rock n’ roll soul man Greg Dulli’s kind of town. Perhaps the metropolitan Louisiana melting pot exemplifies one of the songwriter’s central themes of finding redemption in the midst of decadence, a concept never more apparent than when the Twilight Singers frontman experienced the devastating effects wrought on his adopted home by Hurricane Katrina, an event that informed his music profoundly as he worked to finish his latest opus Powder Burns among the rubble of the washed-out Crescent City.

Dropping May 16 on the One Little Indian imprint, Powder Burns has all the characteristics fans have come to expect from Dulli since his days as leader of ‘90s alt-rock outfit the Afghan Whigs: the raw, gravelly voice, the cinematic narratives of lost love, unchecked lust and foreboding violence, the R&B-inflected rockers and lush, spooky ballads, and the overall sense that no matter how far down he goes, there’s always a hand reaching out for some salvation. The shell-shocked environs of New Orleans gives Powder Burns an even greater weight to Dulli’s ability to find glimmers of hope in the darkest of hours, testifying not only to personal uplift but also to the deliverance of an entire community.

Fellow New Orleans settlers/survivors Ani DiFranco and Joseph Arthur boost the constantly revolving Singers line-up, contributing vocals to three tracks each. Meanwhile, Dulli’s former Whigs bandmate John Curley reunites to throw down some bass on “Candy Cane Crawl.” Dulli spent the last two years working on it gradually over sessions in Los Angeles, New York, Milan and Catania, Sicily, ultimately finishing it under the curfew-stricken martial law of New Orleans.

The full set:

* “Toward the Waves”
* “I’m Ready”
* “There’s Been an Accident”
* “Bonnie Brae”
* “Forty Dollars”
* “Candy Cane Crawl”
* “Underneath the Waves”
* “My Time (Has Come)”
* “Dead to Rights”
* “The Conversation”
* “Powder Burns”
* “I Wish I Was”

Note: bonus track “They Ride” is also available exclusively with purchase of the album on iTunes.

The Twilight Singers will embark on a tour of the U.S. and Europe shortly after the release of Powder Burns. Check out for details.

Comments are closed.

Copyright 2022 Summer's Kiss · RSS Feed · Log in